More About the @NFBC Online Auction Championship

Standard

As noted in the last post, I competed this weekend in the NFBC Online Auction Championship contest. For this fantasy baseball rotisserie draft, each competitor in a fifteen-team league has $260 to spend on acquiring 23 MLB players. I enjoyed myself so much on Friday, that I decided to compete again in the contest on Saturday. Thus, I undertook two auctions this weekend on Friday and Saturday night. This post compares my money-spending strategies.

The Friday night auction was the first auction in which I have participated since 2019. 2019 was my first year playing fantasy baseball at the NFBC. At that time, I was beginning my journey in learning how to compete in these contests. In 2019, I did not know the MLB and MiLB player pools well enough. My auction teams in 2019 were uncompetitive.

I have spent a lot of time since then learning how to be a better competitor. There is a lot to learn if you wish to compete in high stakes fantasy baseball. This year, I started prepping for the 2023 NFBC contests in November.  I have a good notion of the player pool and I think I know the players who will perform well in 2023. Compared to 2019, I am far more prepared for one of these auction contests.

The Friday night auction competitors in my league from top to bottom were less experienced in the NFBC. The competition on Saturday night, however, was filled to the brim with NFBC stars, including Zachary Waxman, who won an auction championship in 2021, and Lindy Hinkelman, an NFBC legend and one of the top earners in the NFBC. There were other highly reputable characters in the Saturday night auction.

My spending strategy for each auction varied. I was far less aggressive in my early bidding on the Friday night auction. On Saturday night, however, I was more aggressive and acquired a larger percentage of my players in the early third of the draft. The two pie graphs below depict the percentage of money spent in each phase of each auction.

For what it’s worth, fantasy, pros software, graded both of my drafts as a B-. I don’t use the fantasy pros draft guide, so this is unsurprising.

One takeaway. I mostly did have to pay up for my guys. The fact good players were bidding the price up on the players i am targeting gives me hope that I’m on the right guys for 2023. I overspent by $10 on Friday to get my guys. I overspent by $8 on Saturday. I will post more here about the players on each team soon.

Leave a comment